Wake up!

Nik: “Wake up, mom!  Time to get up!”
[pulls my hand as it dangles over the side of the bed]
“Wake up!  Here, pull my hand!”
[pulls my hand, grunts.]
“Take it off, mom!  Here, I help.”
[climbs onto the bed and starts pulling the comforter and sheets off me.  Climbs back down.  I pull sheets & comforter back over my head]
“MOM!  Time to get Anjali!”
[silence.]
[I hear feet running away]
[long pause.  I start dozing off.]
[I hear feet running back.  I feel him climbing back on the bed.]


RED ALERT!  DO YOU COPY?
EMERGENCY! NO ONE GETS LEFT BEHIND!

I bolt upright. 

He had brought the megaphone from Billy Blazes, Fire Fighter, and put it to my ear, and then pressed the voice button.

That was effective.  Now that I was sitting up, dazed, he handed me my glasses: “Here, mom, put your glasses on!”
“Clean it on your shirt!” [because that is what I do everyday, apparently.]
“Put it on your eyes!”

Okay.  Now I’m awake.

3 thoughts on “Wake up!

Leave a Reply

