Birthday

I could have gone to the city for the day today.  Or gone for a massage, or a facial, or a mani/pedi.  A sitter could be watching the kids. 

But when it came down to it, I couldn’t spend my birthday away from these two brats.  I have no problem on other days, but today, I wanted to spend it with them.  Not that they get it.  In fact, when I told him it was my birthday today, Nik said, most emphatically, “NO! NO BIRTHDAY PLEASE!”

I tried again later to get him to sing me the song, and he again shouted, “NO!”

Once upon a time, I wanted lots of presents, had to have chocolate cake, the day had to be JUST SO.  And woe to the person who got in the way…his or her head got chewed off. 

As I write this, I am realizing that all my expectations for having the perfect birthday actually ended up making me quite miserable when the day didn’t live up to my expectations.  Hmmm.  High expectations = miserable me.

I have no expectations for today, except that I be with my two little kiddos, right in the middle of their ever-present joy in being alive.

6 thoughts on “Birthday

  1. Happy Birthday ! yeah, I agree expectations kill us and are so very stressful.
    But I’m sure with such lovely kids you will have a wonderful day . Have fun 🙂

    bombaygirl says: Thank you Rupa. It was a good day.

  2. A happy belated birthday and I applaud you for wanting to spend it with the kiddos. Nothing on earth could induce me to do that:-)

    bombaygirl says: I know huh? I thought I was nuts too…but there was really nothing else that I really wanted to do. Go figure!

  3. Belated birthday wishes.
    Well whaddya know? Mine falls on the 11th day too, but of another month.

    bombaygirl says: thanks maami! Will we find out which month? 😉

  4. Pingback: Mother’s Day « The Little Tortoise

Leave a Reply

