Money money money

We need it. 

So I dusted off my suits and dress shoes and went to a recruiter interview this morning.  It has been 2 years since I worked in the corporate world, and 5 years since I worked full-time. 

So the recruiter asked for my reasons for the break in my career and I responded with the usual “took time off to have kids.”

And then she asked: “So are you going to have any more?”

A long pause.  Then I said, “No, I don’t think so.  I have a boy and a girl, so…”

She must have realized her faux pas, because she then quickly talked about her little boy, and how she and her husband just bought a new house, and so she was ready to start trying for another child soon. 

Because somehow revealing her personal life made it okay for her to ask about mine.  I’ve been around long enough and interviewed enough people to know that what she asked was a big no-no.

Oh well.